You are here: Home International Graduate … Doctoral Studies at … Supervision Award

Award of the University of Freiburg for excellent doctoral supervision

With the Award of the University of Freiburg for Excellent Doctoral Supervision, the University honors the outstanding commitment of supervisors and at the same time expresses its appreciation for this special contribution. In addition, the prize is intended to further strengthen the supervision culture at the University of Freiburg and to increase the visibility and importance of the topic as well as to highlight examples of good supervision practice.


The prize is endowed with 2,000 € and is intended to support doctoral candidates. Up to two prizes may be awarded per year.

Award criteria

  • Personal engagement in supervision
  • Communication style in the supervisory relationship
  • Support of scientific development and career planning
  • Other outstanding aspects of supervision


Who can be nominated? All members of the University of Freiburg who have the right to supervise doctoral candidates (including supervision teams).

Who can nominate? All doctoral candidates of the University of Freiburg and postdoctoral researchers up to one year after completion of the oral examination. Each nomination must be supported by at least two persons.

Please email the following nomination documents as one PDF file to :

  1. Nomination form
  2. Nomination text. The text should be limited to approx. 800 words and address the award criteria men-tioned above.


The deadline for submissions is 02.06.2023.

After receiving your nomination, your personal data as well as the names and subjects of the nominated supervisors will be anonymized. Subsequently, the proposals will be forwarded to the selection committee, which is composed of representatives of professors, postdocs (R3), doctoral candidates, IGA and GDaPE under the chairmanship of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.

The awardees will be honored during the opening of the academic year on 18.10.2023.

We are very much looking forward to your nomination!


Awardees 2023

Prof. Dr. Racha Kirakosian, Professorin für Germanistische Mediävistik
Prof. Dr. Frank Hutter, Professor für Maschinelles Lernen

The report on the doctoral supervision award 2023 can be found here.